The Unstoppable Brodie Donougher

Dancer, Actor, Singer, Accomplished Entertainer

“Watch me, watch me, watch me make this flip,” five-year-old Brodie Donougher implored his parents as he flipped off the living room sofa. That was the beginning of Brodie’s performing career. He was a happy, enthusiastic, and energetic child, who loved to share his talents with anyone who wanted to see them. His motivation was to bring enjoyment to others. At 21, he  performs professionally for audiences’ enjoyment as an actor, singer, and dancer.

From flips off the sofa at the age of five to today, Brodie has had three major roles: on London’s West End as Billy Elliot for three years; as Rookie with the Grand Rapids Ballet in the United States; and, beginning this month, in Vienna, Austria, in The Phantom of the Opera. What drives Brodie Donougher to immerse himself into a production and embody a character? His infectious enthusiasm to pursue his craft and indulge his drive for excellence, because he says, “You can never be too good.”

Skyline of Opera Garnier, Paris – home of the Phantom

In January 2024, Brodie arrived in Vienna, Austria, to begin rehearsals for Camron Mackintosh’s production of Das Phantom der Oper –The Phantom of the Opera by Andrew Lloyd Webber. He will be performing his roles entirely in German, (the Austrian Hoch Deutsch dialect). Brodie is multilingual speaking Italian, now German, and of course, English. He has already learned ‘The Phantom text’ in Hoch Deutsch. “We have an incredible team of top performers, and I feel honored to be among them,” said Brodie who plays two characters –  Hannibal’s Guard, as well as an ensemble member. He explains, “As the ensemble member, my character is an attractive young dancer who performs at the Opera Garnier in Paris. He is quite flirtatious, and loves the attention of the two principals, Carlotta and Piangi. Hannibal’s Guard makes a prominent entrance and poise at the beginning and keeps strong entrances throughout the whole first act. In addition to playing two characters in the performance, I am also a ‘stage hand’ and come and go throughout the different scenes and help keep the narrative going.” The production opens to the public on March 15. Tickets are sold out through June 20. The show will play in Vienna through June 2025.

An insatiable learner, Brodie says, “It’s my belief that every moment that you’re sitting idle, there is opportunity wasted. If I am sitting at home or in a cafe relaxing, there is wasted  opportunity when I could go out and learn something new.  Don’t get me wrong I relax;  everybody needs that, but I have this constant need to be learning or enhancing – to do more. If I can go to a ballet class, I will go, and as soon as I’ve finished it and I learn about a workshop happening, and, if time allows, I will attend that as well. I love using my time to improve and develop my skills.”  

Photo Curtesy of Brodie Donougher
Flipping and Flying

How has one so young accomplished so much? “I love to give one hundred percent,” explains Brodie. “Sure, I can get by with 70 percent. But then, I think about how the audience might have enjoyed the production if I had given 100 percent. Every actor on a stage reaches the audience. I love to touch each member of the audience and bring them into the production.”

An accomplished and highly recognized ballet dancer, Brodie wanted to use his voice and get back to his “roots” of musical theater. He described his original roots , “I am from Blackpool in the Northwest of England. It is not a very prosperous area, but that is home.” The area’s prosperity or lack thereof did not hold him back. He was scouted as a young child by the Royal Ballet School Primary Steps Program where his hard work and dedication gave him opportunities beyond imagination. They selected him to join the school. He embraced, breathed, and lived every aspect of his dream-come-true. “Whenever I get into a less than optimal situation, I think of my roots. Where I came from and what I have accomplished. I always feel tremendous gratitude and want to give more,” he explained.

One day, while waiting for Brodie at his ballet class, him mother overheard other mothers discussing upcoming auditionsin Manchester, England for Billy Elliot the Musical.  She decided to give Brodie the audition experience. He, along with several other students from his ballet school, auditioned. Brodie, at nine years old, sustained the grueling eight-hour initial audition where at every hour contenders for the lead were dismissed. After seven hours, Brodie was still dancing. Over a lengthy audition process, Brodie was offered the part of Billy Elliot. At that time, he also received offers to study with the Royal Ballet School and with the Elmhurst Ballet School, both premier ballet schools in the UK. At his young age, he knew that his decision could affect his future. He accepted the lead in Billy Elliot the Musical.

Photo curtesy of Brodie Donougher PC: Brian Cantwell
A real life Billy Elliot

Billy Elliot was a highly acclaimed production on the West End. Brodie was Billy #39 and performed 144 times over three years. He says, “That is when I discovered that I love to perform, when I looked out in the audience and saw thousands of people being entertained.” Brodie performed at the Olivier Awards, representing Billy Elliot for Best West End Musical, in 2015.  He performed “Billy” on various television shows, including “This Morning,” a British daytime magazine program, and on the Late Late Show in Ireland. Charisma is among his many talents.

Brodie immersed himself in his ballet education following Billy Elliot. For the four years after the play ended, he studied ballet with the Elmhurst Ballet School and honed his craft.

Photo by Elmhurst Ballet School
15-year-old student, Brodie, at Elmhurst Ballet School

At 18, Brodie brought his talents to the United States, where he was selected by the San Francisco Ballet School for a full scholarship to become a senior student there. According to Data Pointes, the San Francisco Ballet School is ranked among the top ten best ballet schools in the world.  

Photo curtesy of Brodie Donougher – PC: Ray Nard Image Maker
All That Jazz – Grand Rapids Ballet

Following his two-year study  at San Francisco, Brodie joined Grand Rapids Ballet as a professional dancer. His precision, technique, and ability to fully inhabit characters helped elevate the company’s performances. Brodie’s most “cherished” Grand Rapids Ballet role was when he was cast as “Rookie” in the Andy Blankenbuehler (a three-time Tony award winner for Bandstand, In the Heights, and Hamilton), production, Remember Our Song. Brodie explained, “When given the opportunity to portray a role in a show or musical, the biggest part of preparation for your role is research. The most important thing, before you even step into the studio or rehearsal, is to learn who the character is. His thoughts, fears, hopes, loves. I spent two weeks researching. This story was about sailors in WWII who were in a submarine. I tried to imagine myself as that young sailor living below the surface of the sea; not seeing daylight; leaving my mom behind. I slept on a metal cot with the smallest and thinnest cloth for a cover. I read books about submarines and accounts of sailors’ experiences in the depths of the ocean. I WAS Rookie. The Company’s board president came to me after one of my performances and told me, ‘I couldn’t even think it was you dancing…I felt as though I could feel every emotion. You made the performance storytelling.’”

While ballet is as natural as breathing for Brodie, he has much more to offer – acting, speaking, and singing. “I was told not to hide my light under a bushel,” recounts Brodie. “When I share my voice, the audience can experience the full impact of the character that I embody.” Voice, language and music make musical theater touching and memorable. Brodie has been preparing himself for every moment to entertain the audience whether solo or in ensemble. “I love working with my artistic team to produce the best possible theater for our audience. When we all give 100 percent, my heart is full.”

Upon his return to the UK after Grand Rapids, Brodie performed in the West End Christmas production of The Snowman at the Saddlers Wells Peacock Theater. Although initially as a “swing” cast member, on many occasions he performed the role of Fred Astaire with finesse and elegance. His jumps were clean and crisp, his miming and acting were clear and relatable and “he helped bring an extra dimension to the performance,” per a theatergoer who enjoyed the production.

Photo by Brian Cantwell
At the Stage Door

Asked what his dream role(s) might be, Brodie replied, “I’ve made a list on my laptop and on my phone of my dream roles and the shows for these roles are, just to name a few, the character of Mush in Newsies, and I would also love to play in Les Misérables. These are truly my dream roles and musicals. Ideally, my number one most desired role would be Enjolras, a ‘thinker and a man of action,’ according to Victor Hugo. He is the handsome young man who swings the red flag. I would also love to play Marius. It would be a dream come true if I could perform in a US touring company.”

At an age where many would still be considered “up-and-coming,” Brodie Donougher has already established himself as a consummate professional and world-class talent. His unrelenting work ethic and deep respect for his craft and production members suggest this is merely the first act in what will undoubtedly be a distinguished career.

Note:  I met Brodie at a ballet performance several years ago. I was impressed by his tremendous presence yet humble nature. His fresh, fit, good looks and charisma were palpable. I was sorry to see him return to London because I had hoped to be able to watch him perform in the U.S. Since our first meeting, we have met for coffee and dinner in London. One morning while in London, I received an early morning message that he was performing in The Snowman that day. I managed to acquire tickets in under one hour and arrived at the theater with 10 minutes to spare. His performance was exceptional. This blog is to share this impressive actor with my sphere of readers and friends. He is someone to follow and make an effort to see. He is worth it.